Aside from having the ability to erase your personal data, you may get a request from one of your registrants to have their personal data be erased. As part of your role as a data controller, you determine what information gets collected from your event registrants and how that information will be used. In this regard, Corsizio acts as a data processor and does not use the data you collect from your event registrants in any way. Instead, we process the data on your behalf.

In light of stricter privacy laws, like the GDPR, many people in the world, not just those in Europe, have greater rights with regards to their personal data. So if you get contacted by one of your attendees and asked to have their personal data deleted, as part of their right to be forgotten, you also have the ability to control this aspect from within your Corsizio account.

Difference between Deleting a Registration and Expunging Personal Data

You have two options to choose from, in order to be a responsible data controller and comply with your data subject’s (event registrant / attendee) “right to be forgotten”.

Delete: This option will delete a given registration completely, including the erasure of all of the data associated with that registration, from both your Corsizio account and our Corsizio database. You can choose this option if there is no online credit card payment associated with the registration. If there is, you need to consider the expunge option.

Please be aware that the delete registration option will skew your reporting for that event. So it is only the best option to use if the registration was cancelled and the registrant did not actually attend the event, and/or if there were no financial transactions associated with it.

Expunge: This option will keep the registration on file, but it will expunge (scrub out) all of the personal data collected on that registration. This means the obvious name and email address, as well as any custom field data you collected on this registration form. This allows the event registrant “to be forgotten” and have all of their personally identifiable data erased from the system. In turn, it leaves you with an anonymous registration record for proper financial and statistical reporting purposes.

You can find both of these options within the attendee registration card, in the Actions dropdown menu > Delete/expunge this registration

Please be aware that both the delete registration and expunge registration options are not reversible, so please use them mindfully.

Aside from the deleting and expunging registration options, you also have the option to cancel registrations, if you do not need to erase any personal data.